Austmine 2021 Awards Winners Announced

Posted on June 3rd, 2021 in BLOG, News

The Austmine Industry Leaders’ Dinner and Awards saw over 950 attendees come together for a sensational night of networking and entertainment.

The event was highlighted by an engaging keynote address by Justin Langer AM, Australian Men’s National Cricket Coach, who explored the traits of good leaders by reflecting on his career experiences.

During the evening Austmine presented four major industry awards, and we would like to congratulate our winners Gekko SystemsBHPEmesent and Dr Bob Johnson – Maptek. It was fantastic to celebrate the achievements of the world-leading companies found in the Australian METS sector.

Austmine 2021 Awards Winners

Craig Senger Excellence in Export Award
Sponsored by Austrade

Winner: Gekko Systems
Finalists: Applied Mining Technologies (AMT), Metallurgical Systems and Safescape

Photo shows L to R: Tim Bell, Manager Sales & Operations, Gekko Systems; Jane Caforio, State Director Western Australia, Australian Trade and Investment Commission (Austrade)

Founded in 1996 in regional Victoria, Gekko Systems is now a global leader in mineral processing, offering strong capabilities in the design, manufacturing, installation and commissioning of energy-efficient mineral processing equipment and complete plants for a wide range of minerals including gold, silver and polymetallics. Gekko has global offices in Vancouver, Moscow and Johannesburg.

Austmine Innovation for Miners Award
Sponsored by Komatsu

Winner: BHP Dash Maintainer Tools
Finalists: Anglo American Digitisation of Work Orders; BHP TROC Human Machine Interface

Photo shows L to R: Alex Bertram, Manager Digital Transformation, BHP; Kim Horton, Field Maintenance Superintendent, BHP; Sean Taylor, CEO & Managing Director, Komatsu Australia

Dash Maintainer Tools is a BHP led internal start-up, collaborating with METS leaders Komatsu, IFM Effector, Liebherr and AT&M. Dash Maintainer Tools is an IoT hardware and software platform that enables maintenance technicians to undertake diagnostic testing tasks on mobile mining equipment without being within the footprint of the machine, removing them completely from the line of fire. Dash has improved safety by eliminating live work, reduced time to diagnose faults and made maintenance work more accessible for people with different abilities, and will lead to significant productivity and emissions reduction benefits in the future.

Austmine Innovation for METS Award

Winner: Emesent
Finalists: 3ME Technology, Chrysos Corporation, PETRA Data Science

Photo shows L to R: Christine Gibbs Stewart, CEO, Austmine; Jeremy Sofonia, Technical Evangelist, Emesent; Mark Warren, Chair, Austmine

Emesent is a world leader in drone autonomy, LiDAR mapping and data analytics. Since its inception in 2018, Emesent has built a reputation for advanced autonomy and high-quality data capture in the mining, infrastructure, and construction industries. Their flagship product, Hovermap, is a smart mobile scanning unit that combines advanced collision avoidance and autonomous flight technologies to map hazardous and GPS-denied environments.

Austmine Champion of Innovation Award

Winner: Dr Bob Johnson, Maptek
Finalists: Haydn Roberts, MST Global; John Lyons, Mineral Technologies; Mark Keogh, UON

Photo shows L to R: Elizabeth Lewis-Gray, Co-Founder & Chair, Gekko Systems; Peter Johnson, Chairman, Maptek (Accepting on behalf of Bob); Alan Broome AM, Chairman Emeritus, Austmine

Dr Bob Johnson is an Australian innovator who has spent his professional life providing vital services to the global mining industry. Bob was a pioneer in the use of computer software for modelling resources and founded Maptek in 1981 to develop mining software that could be operated easily by geologists and mining engineers. Maptek has since become an Australian METS global success story with offices in ten countries.